跳转到内容

影响因素#

本主题介绍影响 ToF 距离测量的因素。

环境光#

由于 ToF 距离测量依赖于相机发出的光的反射,因此任何其他光(例如人造光源或日光)都会影响测量结果。

虽然相机能够测量环境光,然后将其从像素接收的总光能中减掉,但相机补偿环境光的能力是有限的。原因是像素只能接受一定量的电荷。如果环境光耗尽了此容量,则可用于预期的光 pulse 反射的空间将更少,因此,信噪比会降低。

为了减轻环境光的影响,blaze-101 相机配有光学带通滤光片。该滤光片仅允许与相机光源 (940 nm) 光谱相同的光通过传感器。您应避免在相机附近使用任何可发出该光谱的人造光源,因为这会导致在获取的图像中产生噪声。同样地,同时操作其他 blaze 相机也会引起干扰。有关如何避免这种情况的措施,请参阅使用多台相机部分。

阳光不是什么大问题,因为它在 940 nm 光谱中不是很强。

有关如何精心安排相机设置以避免过曝的提示,请参阅硬件安装 (blaze)部分。

散射光#

相机镜头内部或后方的反射会产生散射光。即使在 blaze-101 相机的制造过程中采取特别措施(例如,通过对内部组件使用特殊的防反射涂层),也无法完全消除这些反射。

光源附近的明亮表面和物体也会导致散射光。即使这些表面和物体不出现在相机的直接视野中,也会产生问题。仅仅通过将相机置于台面的中间,相机发出的光就可能被台面直接反射回镜头,致使距离测量偏斜。下图说明了这些影响。

散射光影响

为了对抗散射光的影响,Basler 采取了以下措施:

  • 仔细选择镜头
  • 限制光源孔径

信息

VCSEL 前面的保护玻璃必须保持清洁。

有关如何精心安排相机设置以避免产生散射光的提示,请参阅硬件安装 (blaze)

温度#

温度对距离测量的精度有重大影响。需要考虑以下不同方面:

  • 相机需要稳定的温度。
    即使整体温度在允许的温度范围内,测量准确性也会随温度的变化而波动。为了获得尽可能最佳的结果,温度应保持稳定。最佳温度为 22 °C。有关如何实现此目的的建议,请参阅提供散热 (blaze)
  • 相机需要预热时间。
    相机大约需要 20 分钟才能达到稳定的工作温度。由于稳定的温度是进行准确测量的先决条件,因此请在开始采集图像之前等待 20 分钟。
  • 遵循操作温度范围
    在高于 50°C 的温度下,无法再保证可靠的相机操作。在外壳温度低于 0°C 时,相机无法启动。
    blaze-101 是机配备了过温保护装置。因此,即使在超出建议范围的温度下操作相机,相机损坏或损伤的风险也很小。

相机的热漂移校正功能可用于抵消温度对测量精度的影响。

多重反射(多路径)#

为进行精确的距离测量,只有光反射一次才能提供可靠的数据。相机视场或总体环境中的其他物体多次反射的任何光线都可能导致测量结果失准。凹形形状(例如房间的角落或咖啡杯的内部)尤其成问题,因为光 pulse 会在不同的表面之间来回反弹,从而增加了其被传感器接收到的时间。

镜子和高反射表面(例如上漆的桌面)也可能导致多次反射,甚至可能使光 pulse 完全偏转。下图说明了这些影响。

多重反射影响

有关如何精心安排相机设置以避免多重反射的提示,请参阅硬件安装 (blaze)

目标物体的反射率#

目标物体的反射率也会影响测量的精度。需要考虑两个方面:

  • 反射类型取决于目标物体的表面质量
  • 目标物体颜色

反射类型#

可能发生两种反射:

  • 漫反射
    这发生在无光泽的物体(例如木头或纸)中。反射率是均匀的,这意味着光 pulse 在所有角度均被均匀反射。与下面描述的镜面反射相反,这种反射是可取的,因为反射回传感器的光的强度不受角度的影响。
  • 镜面反射
    这发生在有光泽的物体(例如,抛光金属或极端情况下的镜子)和透明材料中。反射将根据反射定律发生,该定律规定某个方向的入射光将被反射到一个出射方向,入射和出射光 pulse 与物体表面的垂直线成相等角度。这意味着反射光 pulse 将遵循与相机发出的光 pulse 不同的路径,这可能会导致多重反射

另一个危险是反射光直接击中传感器,当光 pulse 击中物体表面的垂直线时会发生这种情况。这可能导致像素因来自单个光 pulse 的能量而变得饱和。

由于上述原因,很难对光泽或透明材料进行准确的距离测量。

目标物体颜色#

明亮的物体会提供更好的结果,因为通常来说,它们能够反射更多的光,而对于黑暗的物体,则会吸收一定量的光,因此不会将其返回传感器。

要考虑的另一个方面是物体与传感器的距离。虽然明亮的物体通常会产生更精确的结果,但是如果将其置于靠近传感器的位置,其会反射回过多的光,从而发生过饱和。一旦像素变得过饱和,它们将无助于距离测量。因此,测量质量会降低。

您还需要注意,相机使用的是近红外光,并且很难预测物体是否能真正充分地反射近红外光。因此,以上区别只能作为一般的经验法则。

强度图像可以帮助您评估测量的准确性。照度良好的物体在强度图像中不会欠饱和或过饱和,将产生准确的测量结果。

无模糊#

由于光可以传播超出相机指定的范围,并且相机将此空间视为未定义区域,因此会产生模糊问题。结果是,在无模糊范围的末端,新的测量间隔再次从 0 m 开始。由于光 pulse 的定时模式,这在相机中是固有的。

这意味着超出范围的物体也会将光反射回相机。为了解决这个问题,相机将结果“折回”到无模糊范围内。

在其中一种标准操作模式下操作 blaze-101 相机时,无模糊范围为 0–30 m。超过 30 m,不会有太多的光反射回相机。因此,模糊不是什么大问题。

但是,如果您使用的是 Fast Mode,Short Range 中的无歧义范围是 0–1.5 m,Long Range 中的无歧义范围是 0–10 m。这意味着只有在这些范围内测量的物体的距离才能反映出物体的真实距离。

为了更好地理解此问题,请思考以下示例:

范围外 1 m 处的物体将出现在无模糊范围内 1 m 处。换句话说,在远距离拍摄中,如果物体距离相机 11 m,则其距离计为 1 m。

下图说明了这一点。

无模糊

Skip to content

Influencing Factors#

This topic describes factors that influence the ToF distance measurement.

Ambient Light#

As the ToF distance measurement relies on the reflection of light sent out by the camera, any additional light, e.g., artificial light sources or sunlight, can influence the measurement results.

While the camera is able to measure the ambient light and then subtract it from the total light energy the pixels receive, there is a limit to the camera's ability to compensate for ambient light. The reason is that a pixel can only accept a certain amount of electrical charge. If this capacity is used up by ambient light, less space is available for the intended light pulse reflection and, as a consequence, the signal-to-noise ratio decreases.

To mitigate the influence of ambient light, the blaze-101 camera has an optical bandpass filter. This filter only allows light of the same spectrum as the camera's light source (940 nm) to pass through to the sensor. You should avoid any artificial light sources in the vicinity of your camera that emit light in that spectrum as this will lead to noise in the acquired images.

Sunlight is a minor problem as this isn't very strong in the 940-nm spectrum.

For tips how to best plan your camera setup in order to avoid over-exposure, see Hardware Installation.

Scattered Light#

Reflections inside the camera lens or behind it, can create scattered light. Even though great care is taken during the manufacture of the blaze-101 camera, e.g., by using special non-reflective coating for internal components, these reflections can't be eliminated completely.

Scattered light is also easily generated by bright surfaces in the immediate vicinity of the light source. These surfaces don't even need to be in the direct field of view of the sensor to create problems. Just by placing the camera in the middle of a tabletop, the light from the camera may be reflected by the tabletop straight back into the lens and can thus skew the distance measurement. The following figure illustrates these effects.

Scattered Light Effects

To combat the effects of scattered light, Basler has taken the following measures:

  • Careful selection of the lens
  • Limited aperture of the light source

Info

The cover glass in front of the VCSELs must be clean.

For tips how to best plan your camera setup in order to avoid the creation of scattered light, see Hardware Installation.

Temperature#

Temperature has a significant impact on the reliability of distance measurements. There are different aspects of this to consider:

  • Camera requires stable temperature.
    Measurement accuracy fluctuates with changes in temperature, even if the overall temperature is within the allowed temperature range. To achieve best possible results, the temperature should be kept stable. The optimum temperature is 22 °C. For recommendations on how to achieve this, see Providing Heat Dissipation (blaze).
  • Camera requires warm-up time.
    The camera needs approx. 20 minutes to achieve a stable operating temperature. As a stable temperature is a prerequisite for accurate measurements, allow 20 minutes before starting to acquire images.
  • Observe the operating temperature range.
    At temperatures above 50 °C, reliable camera operation can't be guaranteed anymore. At housing temperatures below 0 °C, the camera won't start.
    The blaze-101 camera is equipped with an automatic temperature control mechanism. Therefore, even if you're operating the camera at temperatures outside the recommended range, the risk of damage or injuries is low.

Multiple Reflections (Multipath)#

For accurate distance measurement, only light reflected once delivers reliable data. Any light that has been reflected several times, by other objects in the camera's field of view or the environment in general, can falsify the measurement. Concave forms, like corners of a room or the inside of a coffee cup, are particularly problematic as the light pulse can bounce back and forth between the different surfaces, thus increasing the time until it is received by the sensor.

Mirrors and highly-reflective surfaces, e.g., lacquered tabletops, can also lead to multiple reflections or can even deflect the light pulse completely. The following figure illustrates these effects.

Multiple Reflections Effects

For tips how best to plan your camera setup in order to avoid multiple reflections, see Hardware Installation.

Reflectivity of Target Objects#

The reflectivity of the target object also has an influence on the accuracy of the measurement. Two aspects need to be considered:

  • Reflection type determined by the surface quality of the target object
  • Target object color

Reflection Type#

Two kinds of reflection can occur:

  • Diffuse reflection
    This occurs in matte objects (e.g., wood or paper). Reflectance is uniform which means that the light pulses are reflected equally at all angles. In contrast to specular reflections described below, this kind of reflection is preferable because the intensity of the light reflected back into the sensor isn't influenced by the angle.
  • Specular reflection
    This occurs in glossy objects (e.g., polished metal or, in extreme cases, mirrors) and transparent materials. Reflection will occur according to the law of reflection which states that incoming light of a certain direction will be reflected into one outgoing direction, with incoming and outgoing light pulses at equal angles to the perpendicular of the object surface. This means that the reflected light pulse will follow a different path than the light pulse sent out by the camera which can lead to multiple reflections.

The other danger is that the reflected light hits the sensor directly which occurs when the light pulse hits the perpendicular of the object surface. This can lead to the pixels becoming saturated with the energy from a single light pulse.

For the above reasons, accurate distance measurement of glossy or transparent materials is difficult.

Target Object Color#

Bright objects provide better results as, generally speaking, they are able to reflect more light, whereas with dark objects a certain amount of light is absorbed which will therefore not be returned back to the sensor.

Another aspect to consider is the distance of the object from the sensor. While bright objects generally yield more accurate results, if they are placed close to the sensor, they reflect back so much light that oversaturation occurs. Once pixels become oversaturated, they don't contribute to the distance measurement anymore. As a result, the measurement quality decreases.

You also need to be aware that the camera works with near-infrared light, and it is difficult to predict whether an object actually reflects the near-infrared light well enough. Therefore, the distinction made above can only serve as a general rule of thumb.

The intensity image can help you to assess the accuracy of your measurements. Objects that are well illuminated without being under- or oversaturated in the intensity image, will produce accurate measurement results.

Non-Ambiguity#

The problem of ambiguity arises because light can travel beyond the range that the camera is specified for and the camera considers this space an undefined area. The effect is that at the end of the non-ambiguity range a new measurement interval starts again at 0 m. This is inherent in the camera because of the timing pattern of the light pulses.

This means that objects outside the range will also reflect light back to the camera. To deal with this, the camera "folds back" the results into the non-ambiguity range.

When you're operating the blaze-101 camera in the one of the standard operating modes, the non-ambiguity range is 0–30 m. Beyond 30 m, not much light will be reflected back to the camera. Therefore, ambiguity isn't much of a problem.

If you're using the Fast Mode, however, the non-ambiguity range is 0–1.5 m in Short Range and 0–10 m in Long Range. This means that only distances of objects measured in these ranges reflect the objects' true distance.

To better understand the problem, consider the following example:

Objects at 1 m outside the range will appear at 1 m within the non-ambiguity range. In other words, in Long Range, if an object is 11 m away from the camera, its distance is measured as 1 m.

The following figure illustrates this.

Non-Ambiguity