跳转到内容

使用多台相机#

本主题说明了如何同时使用多台 blaze 相机拍摄图像。

距离测量的质量在很大程度上取决于照射到传感器上的附加光量。这种光可以是阳光或其他相机发出的光。因此,同时使用两台或更多 blaze 相机会产生问题。

同时操作多台相机的方法#

有多种方法可以让您使用多台相机捕获同一场景。

多相机通道功能#

多相机通道功能的优点在于,它可用于位于同一房间但不在同一网络中的相机。为了协调其图像采集时间,并且避免干扰其他相机的光源,这些相机无法相互通信。一个典型的用例是在一个仓库中,几辆装有 blaze 相机的 AGV(自动导引车)在狭窄的空间中四处移动。相机的最大数量为七台。

Synchronous Free Run 功能#

Synchronous Free Run (blaze) 基于 PTP 并且可以让您精确地错开相机的采集时间,从而完全避免单个光源的干扰。为此,相机必须位于同一网络中,例如连接到同一网络交换机。您可以在两种不同的模式下使用 Synchronous Free Run:连续式交错式

  • 在交错模式下,相机的最大数量为两台。
  • 在连续模式下,理论上可以同时使用的相机数量不受限制。但是,您将无法再获得全帧速率。对于添加的每台相机,您都必须降低帧速率。下表概述了大概的帧速率。

连续式 Synchronous Free Run 中可能达到的帧速率#

下表列出了在 Exposure Time 为 1,000 µs 的情况下,连续式 Synchronous Free Run 中可能达到的大概帧速率。

相机数量 最高帧速率 启用 Fast Mode 时的最高帧速率
3 10.2 22.6
4 7.6 17.0
5 6.1 13.7
6 5.1 11.4
7 4.4 9.8
8 3.8 8.6

多相机操作方法的比较#

下表概述了各种方法,可帮助您确定在同时操作相机时哪个方面最为重要。

多相机操作方法 相机数量 设置操作 需要公用网络 运动模糊 一般成像质量
多相机通道 7 高,但随着相机数量增加而减少
Synchronous Free Run –
连续式
无限,但必须为添加的每台相机降低帧速率
Synchronous Free Run –
交错式
2 最小

信息

blaze 相机与 2D 相机协同运行

一个特殊的用例是能够在 blaze 相机和 2D GigE 相机(例如 aceace 2 GigE 相机
)之间同步采集图像。在这种情况下,两台相机可以同时曝光,因为 2D 摄像头不会自己发光,因此不会干扰 blaze 相机。
因为 blaze 相机的红外线会干扰 2D 相机,因此应使用具有红外截止滤光片的相机。如果您的相机没有红外截止滤光片,则可以使用 Synchronous Free Run 来确保两种相机类型不能同时获取图像。为此,您可以使用交错式或连续式 Synchronous Free Run,具体取决于要使用的相机总数。

Skip to content

Working with Multiple Cameras#

This topic explains how to capture images with multiple blaze cameras at the same time.

The quality of the distance measurement to a large extent depends on the amount of additional light that hits the sensor. This can be sunlight or light sent out by another camera. As a result, using two or more blaze cameras simultaneously would be problematic.

Methods for Operating Cameras Simultaneously#

There are different ways to enable you to use multiple cameras to capture the same scene.

Multi-Camera Channel Feature#

The advantage of the Multi-Camera Channel feature is that it can be used for cameras that are in the same room but not in the same network. These cameras are unable to communicate with each other in order to coordinate their acquisition timings so as not to interfere with the other cameras' light sources. A typical use case would be a warehouse in which several AGVs (automated guided vehicles) equipped with blaze cameras move around in a confined space. The maximum number of cameras is seven.

Synchronous Free Run Feature#

The Synchronous Free Run (blaze) feature is based on PTP and allows you to stagger the acquisition timings of the cameras so precisely to avoid interferences by the individual light sources completely. For this, the cameras have to be in the same network, e.g., connected to the same network switch. You can use synchronous free run in two different modes: consecutive and interleaved.

  • In interleaved mode, the maximum number of cameras is two.
  • In consecutive mode, the number of cameras that can be used simultaneously is theoretically unlimited. However, you won't be able to achieve the full frame rate anymore. For every camera you add, you will have to reduce the frame rate. The following table provides an overview of approximate frame rates.

Possible Frame Rates in Consecutive Synchronous Free Run#

This table lists approximate frame rates you may achieve in consecutive synchronous free run at an exposure time of 1,000 µs.

Number of Cameras Max. Frame Rate Max. Frame Rate with Fast Mode Enabled
3 10.2 22.6
4 7.6 17.0
5 6.1 13.7
6 5.1 11.4
7 4.4 9.8
8 3.8 8.6

Comparison of Multi-Camera Operation Methods#

The following table provides an overview of the different methods to help you decide which aspect is most important for you when operating cameras simultaneously.

Multi-Camera Operation Method Number of Cameras Setup Effort Common Network Required Motion Blur General Image Quality
Multi-Camera Channel 7 Low No Low High, but decreases with number of cameras used
Sync Free Run –
Consecutive
Unlimited, but frame rate has to be reduced for every camera added High Yes Medium High
Sync Free Run –
Interleaved
2 Medium Yes Minimal High

Info

Teaming blaze Cameras With 2D Cameras

A special use case is the ability to synchronize image acquisition between blaze cameras and 2D GigE cameras, e.g., ace or ace 2 GigE cameras.
In this scenario, exposure on both cameras can take place at the same time as the 2D cameras don't emit light of their own and therefore can't interfere with the blaze camera.
As the infrared light of the blaze camera can interfere with the 2D camera, you should use a camera with an IR cut filter. If your camera doesn't have an IR cut filter, you can use synchronous free run to make sure that both camera types are not acquiring images at the same time. For this, you can use the interleaved or the consecutive synchronous free run, depending on the total number of cameras you want to use.
Follow these recommendations to avoid synchronization issues.

Back to top